The “North” In North Webster


By Terri Ritter North Webster Community Public Library Public Relations Coordinator

North Webster Chamber

North Webster is named for the great statesman Daniel Webster who served as Secretary of State under Presidents William Henry Harrison and Millard Fillmore as well as in the United States Senate and Congress. But did you ever wonder why the town was named “North” Webster? Some say it was named “North” Webster to distinguish it from another community named Webster located in Wayne County in east central Indiana. But, another story is that “North” was a nickname given to Daniel Webster. In the years leading up to the Civil War, Daniel Webster worked with two other statesmen, John C. Calhoun of South Carolina and Henry Clay of Kentucky to settle the issue of slavery and come to a compromise that would save the union. These three powerful statesmen were known as The Big Three and were given nicknames that designated where they came from. Calhoun was “South,” Clay was “West,” and Webster, who was from the Northeast, was known as “North.” At first the community was known as Boydston Mill after the sawmill and gristmill which was located here and operated by the Boydston family. Later Robert R. Shoemaker purchased 160 acres on the southwest corner of what was then known as Boydston Lake and platted the town that he named Webster after the famous Daniel Webster. Over time reference to “Daniel” was replaced with his nickname “North” and eventually North Webster became the legal name or so the tale is told.